Area briefs: Pioneer girls rally to beat Mason

Posted: December 8, 2012

From Star staff reports

HAYMARKET — Millbrook senior Brooke Borlie scored a career-high 18 points and grabbed 14 rebounds to help the Pioneers rally for a 41-35 win over George Mason in the opening round of the Battlefield Tournament Friday night.

The Pioneers (4-0) extended their winning streak to 84, but they needed to battle after falling behind 14-9 at the end of the first quarter. The Mustangs pushed their lead to double digits early in the second quarter, but the Pioneers closed the second quarter on a run to cut the deficit to 20-19 at the half.

Millbrook took control in the third quarter, outscoring Mason 12-4.

Brenna Cook added eight points, and Casey Ackerman chipped in with seven for the Pioneers.

Millbrook advances to face host Battlefield in the tournament championship game today at 4 p.m.


Colonels 3rd after opening day at Horz

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.Va. — James Wood finished the opening day of the 14-team Max Horz Tournament in third place Friday night.

The Colonels advanced six wrestlers into the championship semifinals, including Jimmy Woznak (106 pounds), Taylor Swartz (120), Eric Arkfeld (132), Ryan Funkhouser (145), Levi Roy (170) and Erik Bearer (285).

Sherando finished the first day of the tournament in eighth place. Sherando’s Curtis Guthridge (113), Jacob Guthridge (120), Dan Mullaney (160) and Tyler Hamilton (195) advanced to today’s championship semifinals.

Pioneers advance 7 into semifinals

HEDGESVILLE, W.Va. — Millbrook High School’s wrestling team ended the opening day of the Max Horz Tournament in second place.

The Pioneers put seven wrestlers through to the semifinal round, including Ryan Meuchaw (106 pounds), Trey Sine (113), Nick Kilmer (160), Dylan Wisman (170), Mike Keeler (182), Devon Sharp (195) and Aaron Seal (220).

Millbrook finished the opening day in second behind Loudoun County.

Handley advanced five wrestlers into the semifinals, including Sean Bridgeforth (132), Anthony Andriola (138), Skylar Wotring (195), Tommy Chearoop (220) and Jordan Dowrey (285).