Valley Mill Road rezone effort goes to Frederick board

Posted: September 19, 2013

The Winchester Star

WINCHESTER — The Frederick County Planning Commission Wednesday night recommended approval of a rezoning request that would realign part of Valley Mill Road.

There were several components to the overall request for the 55.46-acre area called The Overlook, located south of Berryville Pike (Va. 7) near that road’s eastern intersection with Valley Mill Road, about six miles east of Winchester.

The rezoning request — prepared by Greenway Engineering for The Overlook’s owners — seeks to rezone 14.183 acres from the county’s Residential Performance (RP) District to the Rural Areas (RA) District; 7.098 acres from RP to the B2 (General Business) District; and 10.040 acres from RA to RP.

While the remaining 24.145 acres will remain in the RP District, Deputy Director of Planning and Development Mike Ruddy said after the meeting that because the acreage is so closely connected it’s considered a rezoning for the entire 55.46 acres.

The intersection of Valley Mill Road and Berryville Pike would be moved about 800 feet to the west along the pike if the rezoning is approved. The new intersection would have a traffic light, which the current location does not have, according to Evan Wyatt of Greenway Engineering.

The new intersection location and traffic signal would make the area safer for drivers, Wyatt said after the meeting.

The Overlook’s owners, Timothy and Mary Stafford, don’t plan to develop the property themselves.

“Their motivation is to get [Valley Mill Road] into a design standpoint so they can start marketing it and then to have somebody come in and purchase the property, build a road and develop the pieces that can be developed,” Wyatt said.

The Frederick County Board of Supervisors will vote on the rezoning request at its Oct. 9 meeting.

Attending the meeting in the Frederick County Administration Building were Vice-Chairman Roger L. Thomas and members Rhodes Marston, Greg L. Unger, Kevin W. Kenney, Charles E. Triplett, Christopher Mohn, Charles F. Dunlap, Lawrence R. Ambrogi, Paige Manuel, Gary R. Oates and Stanley Crockett. Chairwoman June Wilmot and member Brian Madagan were absent.

— Contact Matt Armstrong at