Tuesday, August 11, 2020
  • 0

BERRYVILLE — Geneva Jackson is known throughout Clarke County for making the most delicious ham biscuits, pies and other baked goods. She’s won hundreds of blue ribbons at county fairs and sold her goods at the Clarke County Farmers’ Market for years.

Monday, August 10, 2020

NEW MARKET — Trailing 5-1 at one stage, the New Market Shockers scored nine unanswered runs, including six in the bottom of the eighth inning, to knock off Grottoes 10-5 in the opening game of their best-of-five Rockingham County Baseball League semifinal series on Sunday at Rebel Field.

Friday, August 07, 2020
Thursday, August 06, 2020
Wednesday, August 05, 2020
Tuesday, August 04, 2020
Monday, August 03, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Saturday, July 25, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
  • 0

WINCHESTER — In July of 1920, a handful of families gathered in Louie Clevenger’s large white house at 311 Amherst St. with the intention of starting a new Christian congregation.

Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020

Live music• The Robbie Limon Band will perform from 7 to 9 p.m. Friday at West Oaks Farm Market & Event Venue, 4305 Middle Road. Cover is $10 with kids 12 and under free. 540-539-8175.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020
  • 0

WINCHESTER — The coronavirus pandemic has forced the cancellation of almost all cultural events this year, but the 1455 Summer Literary Festival will still take place this weekend via Zoom and Facebook Live.

Monday, July 13, 2020
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • 0

WINCHESTER — While quarantine and COVID-19 kept folks at home for long periods of time, finding ways to pass the time became a necessity. Many turned to cooking — either trying things for the first time or passing down skills to their children, neighbors and friends.

Tuesday, July 07, 2020
Monday, July 06, 2020
Friday, July 03, 2020
Thursday, July 02, 2020
  • 0

The coronvirus pandemic has snuffed out most public fireworks displays including the city of Winchester’s Rockin’ Independence Eve celebration, held every July 3, and the Frederick County Parks and Recreation Department’s celebration at Sherando Park on July 4.

Saturday, June 27, 2020
  • 0

Editor's note: This article has been changed to correct the last name of Beth Drummonds, a travel agent with Alpha Voyages.

Friday, June 26, 2020
  • 0

Members of the Northern Shenandoah Valley Master Gardener Association members recently donated more than 300 plants to local emergency room staff to say “thank you” for all their hard work during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
  • 0

WINCHESTER — We’ve heard all about COVID for at least three months, and with good reason: here in the Shenandoah Valley, we’ve discovered over 1,700 cases of the disease, and 62 people have died from it.

Monday, June 22, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
  • 0

WINCHESTER — It can be hard to make a living as a visual artist in the best of times. But during a pandemic — when galleries and museums aren’t open to show your work — it can be nearly impossible.

Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020