Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Here is a list of the farmers market in the area. Many of the markets have Facebook pages and/or websites that provide up-to-date information on hours, seasonal produce and new products.

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
  • 0

CLEAR BROOK —The Frederick County Fair is still accepting applications for its pageants. The pageants will be held July 28 and 29. The fair takes place from July 29 through Aug. 3 at the Frederick County Ruritan Fairground off U.S. 11 in Clear Brook.

Monday, July 15, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Imagine this scenario: You’re at the beach, packing the cooler, and face the quandary of how to fit that wine bottle in a cooler already packed with water bottles, beer, and sodas. The tall shape just doesn’t really fit (unless you have a gigantic cooler.)

Friday, July 12, 2019

Mel Brooks’ “Young Frankenstein” opened Thursday at Shenandoah Summer Music Theatre, and continues with shows through July 21. The musical tells the tale of Frederick Frankenstein, grandson of the infamous Victor Frankenstein, when he inherits his family’s estate in Transylvania. With the he…

Thursday, July 11, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Motown, funk and pop favorites from the Soul Expressions band, family lawn games, and admission to the gardens and galleries will highlight Gardens at Night at the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (MSV) today beginning at 6 p.m.

Tuesday, July 09, 2019
Monday, July 08, 2019
Saturday, July 06, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Sustainability is a hot word these days. In light of recent recycling issues — not just in our area, but nationally — a light now shines on our dependence on plastic and glass and the need to live a more sustainable lifestyle, one that has less impact on the environment.

Friday, July 05, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — How often do we hear of “curing cancer” as an ultimate goal for both medicine and public service? One aspiring presidential candidate recently even went so far as to suggest that such a cure might happen if he were elected. As bold and optimistic as this prediction might be, we …

Wednesday, July 03, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019
Monday, July 01, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Eating wisely doesn’t have to be salad after salad. Instead, fill that salad bowl with a healthy take on a fast-food favorite: egg rolls.

  • 0

STEPHENS CITY — Chances are, as you read this, you have a lot on your mind. Worries about tomorrow, regrets over something you said yesterday, and thoughts about what you’ll cook for dinner tonight are starting to float through. Your mind is full — and it’s likely that these constant thought…

Friday, June 28, 2019

The Clarke County High School Class of 1969 held its 50th reunion on June 15 at the VFW Social Hall in Berryville. First row, from left: (seated) Judy Fleming Snook, JoAnn Wisecarver Longerbeam, Paige Ledford, Barbara Longerbeam McWilliams, Carl Gray, Jim Chafin, June Larrick Bowman, Judy Ke…

Thursday, June 27, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — The One Book, One Community committee announced its new reading selection, “My Beloved World,” a memoir by Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor on Tuesday, which was Sotomayor’s birthday.

Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
  • 0

Handley Regional Library System, in partnership with the Friends of the Handley Regional Library, announce the Summer Used Book Sale at Bowman Library. The sale runs Thursday-Saturday and features thousands of gently used books, DVDs, sheet music, and more. Prices are between $2 and 50 cents…

Monday, June 24, 2019
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
  • 0

WINCHESTER — Rock the night away at the Taylor Pavilion this summer with the seventh annual Friday Night Live concert series.