Handley forward Emma Ricci and Coach Britt Miller received top honors as the Class 4 Northwestern District announced its girls’ soccer postseason awards on Thursday.

The voting was done by the district’s coaches.

Ricci, a junior, helped lead the Judges to the district regular-season and tournament titles. Miller took over the program on an interim basis after the season opener and guided Handley to both crowns.

Other Judges on the First Team are sophomores Julia Nerangis (midfielder) and Jess Alamo (defender).

James Wood and Sherando each had four First Team picks.

The Colonels’ selections were: senior Katie Padgett (forward), senior Madison Myers (midfielder), senior Lauren Russell (defender) and sophomore Sadie Kerns (goalkeeper).

The Warriors’ picks were: sophomore Kendall Lincoln (forward), sophomore Julia Hunter (midfielder), sophomore Lizzie Campbell (defender) and senior Sydney Hunter (defender).

Sophomore Abigail Forest (defender) was Millbrook’s lone first team pick.

Handley, James Wood and Millbrook each had three Second Team picks.

Judges selections were: freshman Mikayla Balio (forward), freshman Taylor Roark (forward) and senior Julia Smith (defender).

Colonels picks were: junior Kaylah Gankiewicz (forward), sophomore Katelyn Mounts (midfielder) and sophomore Ashley Catalano (defender).

Pioneers selections were: senior Ali Devart (midfielder), senior Evie Esslinger (midfielder) and sophomore Karlie Hepner (defender).

Sherando’s Second Team picks were: junior Abbie Dodson (forward) and sophomore Ashley Catalano (defender).


Sherando’s Anderson named top coach

Sherando’s Pat Anderson, who guided the Warriors to the Class 4 Northwestern District regular-season title, was named the district’s Coach of the Year on Thursday.

Four of Anderson’s players received First Team nods: senior Nate Laing (forward), sophomore Jack Hendren (midfielder), sophomore Ethan Laing (defender) and senior Spencer Scott (goalkeeper).

Millbrook had three selections: junior Ricardo Palma (forward), junior Juan Tovar (midfielder) and senior Jake Hansbrough (defender).

Handley also had three picks: senior Owen Mattens (forward), senior John Avant (midfielder) and junior Tucker Heglas (midfielder).

Sophomore Chris Garcia (forward) and junior Jamie King (defender) were selections for James Wood.

Sherando and James Wood each had three players earn Second Team honors.

The Warriors’ honorees were: sophomore Wade Butler (forward), senior Eli Racey (forward) and senior Michael Leckie (defender).

The Colonels’ picks were: senior Wesley Walker (midfielder), sophomore Erick Nolasco (midfielder) and senior Zach Stautzenbach (defender).

Handley’s selections were: junior Alex Pinon-Santos (forward) and senior Robert Lineburg (defender).

Millbrook’s honorees were: junior Ethan Perloff (midfielder) and junior Ayrton Justice (defender).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.